HomeHomeArticle Archives

Pasadena Deltas Present a “Celebration of Excellence”

African American news from Pasadena - Celebration of Excellence resultsOn Saturday, May 15, 2010, the Altadena Senior Center was filled with community members, elected officials, school personnel, family and friends as the Pasadena Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. hosted its annual reception in honor of the 2010 Academic Award Recipients.

The room was beautifully decorated by Scarlet Flowers Designs setting the stage for the program which was opened by President, Gwendolyn McMullins. The invocation was bestowed by Chaplain, Juanita West Tillman and a motivating keynote address was delivered by Dr. Lindsey E. Malcom, Assistant Professor of Higher Education Administration and Policy in the Graduate School of Education at UC Riverside. Congressman Adam Schiff congratulated the graduating senior and gave them encouragement as they take the journey to college.

Denise Jones, Academic Awards Committee Chairperson, presented the academic awards, in the amount of $1,000 each, to the following deserving and accomplished students: Anita Johnson Cole Commemorative to Celeste Williams - Pasadena High School, Carolyn Edwards Jones Commemorative to Asya Hollins - Pasadena High School, Houlemard Family to Shakara DeCarlis - William Blair International Baccalaureate High School; Jane Strong-Moses & Jesse Moses Commemorative to Korbin Law – John Muir High School, Jean & Clarence Mills Family to Slomique Elder - Marshall Fundamental Secondary School, Mabel Lockett Martin Commemorative to Ariel McSween - Los Angeles County High School for the Arts, McMullins Family to Heather Adams, Pasadena High School, Nelle Kigh Thompson Commemorative to Russell Richey –Notre Dame High School ; Presidents' Commemorative to Tori Williams - John Muir High School and Willie Mae Hooks Lewis Commemorative to Tianna Jones - John Muir High School.

Pyramid Academic Awards, in the amount of $500 each, were presented to Bronson Manning - St. Francis High School and Kito Paul - Los Angeles County High School for the Arts Three 2009 Academic Award Recipients, Eric Williams, Erin, McGlover and Chloris Turner, attended the reception and spoke to the upcoming freshman students about their experience in the first year of college.

Certificates of commendation were received by each award winner from the offices of Congressman Adam Schiff, Senator Carol Liu, Assemblyman Anthony Portantino, Supervisor Michael Antonovich and Mayor Bill Bogaard.

The Pasadena Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. has given nearly $360,000 in academic awards to worthy students for the pursuit of post secondary education over the last forty-six years. In addition to educational development, the Pasadena Alumnae Chapter has provided services in the areas of economic development, mental and physical health and political and international awareness/involvement since its chartering on January 27, 1961.

The Academic Awards Committee consists of Gwendolyn McMullins – Chapter President, - Denise Jones – Chair, Christina Bentley, Myra Booker, Johari DeWitt-Rogers, Dianne Lewis, Ellen Ligons, Gwen Magwood, Lindsey Malcom, Juanita West Tillman, Alma Stokes and Esther Watkins.


Get our news by email!

Please be sure to add pasadenajournal.com to your approved senders list before subscribing! Learn More
Unsubscribe any time

Search the Journal


Some sections of our site are for registered and/or paid subscribers only. Please login or create an account.

Missing Something?

Did you know you can get the Pasadena Journal weekly print publication for more news and information?


Related Items

Calendar of Events

<<  April 2014  >>
 Su  Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112