HomeHomeArticle Archives

20th Annual Trumpet Awards Delivers Notable Honors for African American Achievement . . .

. . . Airs Easter Sunday, April 8, 2011 on TV One
Honorees Agree They Are Standing On The Shoulder Of Their Ancestors. Ted Turner Recipient Of Golden Trumpet Award

Black news from Pasadena - Trumpet Awards to be aired Easter(Atlanta, GA) Many of the best and brightest achievers in the African American worldwide community today, coupled with those individuals who have supported the African American cause for racial justice, gathered on the stage of the 20th Annual Trumpet Awards to receive a once-in-life- time salute for their dedication, hard work, and remarkable achievements. The star-studded event, often referred to as the "Oscars" for Black America, took place at the Cobb Energy Center in Atlanta (GA) on Saturday, January 7th and was hosted by Wayne Brady, an Emmy Award winning actor, recording artist, dancer, and television personality

Honorees for the 2012 Trumpet Awards included: Earth, Wind, & Fire, receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award; Rev. C. L. Franklin (accepted by his daughter Aretha Franklin), receiving the Civil Rights Award; Ted Turner, receiving the Golden Trumpet Award; Dr. Levi Watkins, Jr. honored for his achievements in medicine; Mr. & Mrs. Emmitt Smith, receiving the Humanitarian Award; Mayor Cory A. Booker, honored for his political leadership achievements; U.S. Ambassador Nicole Avant, receiving the International Award; Mary Parker, honored for her achievements in business; Tyrese Gibson, receiving the Pinnacle Award; and a group of 17 African American men and women who are Hotel General Managers and are being honored for breaking the glass ceiling in the hotel industry. These individuals are: Olivia Brown, Bryan Conyers, Larry Daniels, Michael Hopper, Adrian Hughes, Russell Miller, Erica Qualls, Michael Session, Michael Smith, Gail Smith-Howard, Michael Washington, Linda Westgate, Robert Woolridge, Erika Alexander, Lorenzo Creighton, Valerie Ferguson, and Robert Steele.

Ms. Xernona Clayton, creator of the Trumpet Awards and executive producer of the show as well as president and CEO of the Trumpet Awards Foundation, presented Ted Turner, her former boss and the creative mind behind Turner Networks and CNN, with the preeminent award for the evening – the Golden Trumpet. "Twenty years ago, Ted Turner gave me the opportunity, the support and the money, which allowed me to create the Trumpet Awards. For this we honor you today," said Ms. Clayton. Mr. Turner's response was, "I am deeply touched."

Celebrity guests participants from other Trumpet Awards weekend events included those who were presented with the Spiritual Enlightenment Award at the Prayer Breakfast: Collie Burnett, Jr. Atlanta Interfaith Broadcasters (AIB TV); Bishop Andrew J. Ford. II, Ford Memorial Temple; Mrs. Serita Jakes, The Potters House; Derrick Lee, Dherico Music; Reverend Timothy Stewart, Bethel Baptist Church (Nassau); and Dr. John & Mrs. Dorothy Casoria, Trinity Broadcasting Network; and Dr. Bernice A. King, Be A King Enterprises, who received the T.B. Boyd Distinguished Service Award.

The International Civil Rights Walk of Fame at the Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site received nine new honorees whose footprints were placed into the granite walkway. These persons included Civil Rights Foot Soldiers Reverend Willie Bolden and J. T. Johnson; Reverend Dr. E. T. Caviness; Dosan Ahn Chang-Ho; Constance Curry; Attorney Fred D. Gray; Reverend Theodore M. Hesburgh; Charles J. Ogletree, Jr; and Dr. Walter F. Young.

The Trumpet Awards will also air April 8, 2012 on TV One.


Missing Something?

Did you know you can get the Pasadena Journal weekly print publication for more news and information?


Calendar of Events

<<  November 2014  >>
 Su  Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa 
  2  3